Drinking and driving is a serious offense in Minnesota that can come with serious consequences. The state of Minnesota is cracking down on the laws and the number of arrests with an average of 115 DUI arrests per day in 2006. If you have been accused of a DWI, DUI or refusal in Golden Valley, MN, there are a few important things you need to know.
DWI arrests occur if your blood alcohol level is over the legal limit of .08. This is usually determined through a breathalyzer, a blood test or a urine sample. If you are underage and caught drinking and driving, you face even harsher civil penalties. Furthermore, if you are arrested with a BAC level of .2 or higher, you face even more serious consequences. You have the right to refuse any type of sobriety test but you can be charged with refusal to test which also comes with a serious charge. In any of these instances, your best defense is to contact a Golden Valley DWI lawyer immediately.
DWI Charges and Convictions
There are four different levels of DWI degrees, all of which comes with severe consequences. For fourth degree DWI offenses you can expect to be charged with a misdemeanor and slapped with a $1000 fine, 90 days in prison and a license revocation for 90 days. The fines, the jail time and the revocation time will increase with each degree of DWI offense. For example, gross misdemeanor offenses are also called second and third degree DWI charges and come with $3000 fine, one year in prison and 180-365 days of license revocation. If you are charged with a first degree DWI, then you will face felony convictions including up to a $14,000 fine, 7 years in prison and a one year license revocation. In some instances, you may also face vehicle forfeiture as well as license plate revocation if you are convicted of a DWI offense.
DWI On and Off the Roads
It is also important to note that DWI charges do not only happen on the road. You could be arrested for BWI (boating while intoxicated) or SWI (snowmobiling while intoxicated). In fact, you can be arrested for any DWI offense while driving a recreational vehicle on ice, on a lake or off road. Furthermore, under the open bottle law, you could also be arrested for having an open container of alcohol in the car, even if you are not over the limit.
Golden Valley DWI Advice
Minnesota DWI laws are confusing and complex to say the least. Furthermore, there are a number of different defense strategies you can adopt for your situation. To avoid criminal conviction and the maximum penalties, contact an experienced Golden Valley DWI lawyer as soon as you are arrested, accused or receive a license revocation letter.
Sabby and Reyes Law Firm represent clients in the Golden Valley, MN area. They have over 35 years experience in DWI offenses and can ensure you the best outcome possible. Contact the team at Sabby and Reyes Law Firm 24 hours a day, seven days a week toll free at 952-828-9000.